First, an apology: it’s been roughly three months since I’ve posted any updates, and for that I’m very sorry. Due to a combination of family chaos and disaster at work, I found myself without the time or emotional energy to devote my usual few dozen hours per week toward this blog, and in all honesty, after three years and almost 400 posts, I really needed the break. When I did find time to write or research, I found myself getting into far too much depth on topics far too strange to post here. That, too, was something I badly needed, as ‘unstructured play’ never really loses its importance for intellectual development. At the same time, though, I found I really missed the simple act of writing regularly for others and the structure it brought to my thoughts and ideas. As the issues I followed continued to rage and worsen, it became increasingly difficult to sit on the sidelines, and while this blog has never had a large following by any measure, it’s still better than nothing.

If the year’s last week is a time for reflection and resolution, then I can think of no better time to return to this ten-year-old laptop and twenty-year-old keyboard to once again menace the local blogosphere. If I had to make a specific resolution, it would be to return to writing, but not in quite the same way as before. As anybody who knows me can attest, this project has, at times, consumed far too much of my time and attention. This, in turn, didn’t help my tendency to ruminate endlessly on the same topics, or to write an average of two posts I never quite finish for each one which does get posted. The second part of this resolution would have to include words like “frequency”, “regularity” and most importantly, “brevity”. Finally, as a broader project over the next year, I’m going to start working my way through the archives in an attempt to clean up some of the many typos and broken links, and to collect some of the better and more popular pieces into a book-length collection for print.

In terms of content, I hope to distil at least some of the last few months’ flights of fancy into a series that takes an in-depth look at the ideology and practice of fascism as well as continued coverage of the creeping surveillance state, resistance to petrochemical development and some good old-fashioned anarchist theory. I’m also going to do everything I can to keep providing on-the-ground coverage of local events, reflections on local issues and of course Sunday Night Movies. As always, if you’ve got questions, comments, ideas or contributions, get in touch.

On a final note, I’d like to wish every regular visitor (even the spammers and cops) a Happy New Year, and offer a profound “thank you” to everyone who kept fighting ‘the good fight’ over these past months. To those in Romania, the Ukraine, Hamburg, Istanbul and Elsipogtog, to the hunger-strikers in prisons and those only now escaping Putin’s new gulags, to those fighting for their lives and freedom in places like Syria and Nigeria, and of course everybody who’s daily struggles will never make the mainstream media. I may not have been writing, but I was watching and so were millions of others. Your sacrifices have not been forgotten, and you will never be alone.

